top of page
Search
  • ak3758

The Home Stretch feat. LASERS

The final stretch consisted of me helping out the team searching for bugs and continuing to get the laser in.


The laser ended up being a line renderer with a script attached to it that lets game objects be the start and end points, once the game starts it dynamically created a stretched capsule collider on that line using some quick math, and that collider is setup to trigger a damage event on the player.


By far most of my time was still spent of vfx, I even bought a udemy course on discount to learn from this one person since he was a great teacher and vfx was interesting to me so I'm sure it was worth it.

I used shader graphs to try and get the desired effect.


Basically first used photoshop to get a good outline of the laser and tried out different shapes incase we wanted non-linear lasers. Then filled them in with a color and a moving x-axis to get a basic moving line. Then added some noise and voronoi effects to get randomness.










Ended up going with the straight line laser but the other ones looked pretty good if we were to use it for a beam rifle for example.


I spent some time looking for sound effects for them, ambient and damage noises mostly but I didn't find anything I really liked so we left that out for now.



overall: ~18 hours. Mostly spent learning, testing and debugging

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 8 PPJ

This week was a mix between trying to make my own sounds and failing miserably and continuing different vfx ideas. starting with the...

Kommentare


bottom of page